Board of Directors

Board Executive Committee

Chair: Chris Ward, Councilmember, San Diego City Council
Vice-Chair: Nathan Fletcher, Board Supervisor, County of San Diego
Secretary: Deacon Jim Vargas, President & CEO, Father Joe’s Villages
Treasurer: Karen Brailean, Partner, BFT Equity Partners

Board Members

Board Member CoC Organization Seat Term
Dimitrios Alexiou Hospital Association of San Diego & Imperial Counties 7/2019 – 6/2021
Greg Anglea Interfaith Community Services 7/2018 – 6/2020
Laura Tancredi Baese Home Start, Inc. 7/2019 – 6/2021
John Brady Voices of our City Choir 7/2019 – 6/2021
Karen Brailean BFT Equity Partners 7/2018 – 6/2020
Jessica Chamberlain Veterans Affairs San Diego Office 7/2019 – 6/2021
Paul Connelly City of San Diego Police Department 7/2019 – 6/2021
Amy Denhart Funders Together to End Homelessness San Diego 4/2019 – 6/2021
Ray Ellis Ellis & Associates, LLC 7/2019 – 6/2021
Sean Elo San Diego Community College District 7/2019 – 6/2021
David Estrella County of San Diego, Housing & Community Development Services (HCDS) / Housing Authority 7/2019 – 6/2021
Nathan Fletcher County of San Diego, Board of Supervisors, District 4 1/2019 – 6/2021
Richard Gentry San Diego Housing Commission 7/2018 – 6/2020
Jeff Gering Family Health Centers of San Diego 7/2018 – 6/2020
Keely Halsey City of San Diego 7/2019 – 6/2021
Michael Hopkins Jewish Family Services of San Diego 7/2019 – 6/2021
Stephanie Kilkenny N/A 10/2019 – 6/2021
Kathryn Lembo South Bay Community Services 7/2018 – 6/2020
Nick Macchione County of San Diego Health and Human Services Agency 7/2018 – 6/2020
Karen McCabe Scripps Mercy Hospital 7/2019 – 6/2021
John Ohanian 211 San Diego/INFOLINE 7/2018 – 6/2020
Walter Phillips San Diego Youth Services 7/2019 – 6/2021
Andrew Picard San Diego Workforce Partnership 7/2019 – 6/2021
Joel Roberts People Assisting The Homeless 7/2018 – 6/2020
Ellis Rose N/A 7/2018 – 6/2020
Nancy Sasaki United Way of San Diego 8/2018 – 6/2020
Andre Simpson Veterans Villages of San Diego 7/2019 – 6/2021
Reverend Rolland Slade Meridian Baptist Church 7/2019 – 6/2021
Deacon Jim F. Vargas Father Joe’s Village 7/2018 – 6/2020
Christopher Ward City of San Diego Councilmember, District 3 7/2018 – 6/2020

Download our Board Members List PDF

Board Member Recruitment

The RTFH currently has an open Board of Director seat.  The seat that is open is a Flexible seat, with a preference for someone with homeless experience.  The application is due Tuesday, November 12th by noon.  Please complete the application and submit per the instructions.


Board & Executive Committee Meetings

With some exceptions, board meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month from 3:00-5:00 p.m., at the County Administration Center (1600 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101), in rooms 302-303.

The Executive Committee meets on the second Wednesday of each month at 12:00 p.m. at the County Administration Center (1600 Pacific Hwy.).

Upcoming meetings will appear on this page’s sidebar or you can view them on our events calendar.


Working Group

The Working Group is made up of staff members of the Executive Committee that meet monthly to set board meeting agendas. Meeting materials can be viewed in the document management system.

Are You Homeless?

DIAL 2-1-1

If you need immediate assistance, please call 2-1-1 for information on resources and services near you.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!